International AIDS Society

Visa Information for Travel to Malaysia

Delegates should note that it is their responsibility to investigate the visa requirements for Malaysia and apply for visa, if necessary. Delegates should ensure that they apply for their visa, if required, at least two weeks before travelling to Malaysia.

Many countries do not require a visa to enter Malaysia. However, nationals from some countries do require a Visa (with or without reference) which needs to be obtained in advance of travelling to Malaysia.

Full information regarding visa requirements is available at: www.imi.gov.my.

Visa applications must be made at a Malaysian Representative Office Abroad. The list can be found at: www.kln.gov.my/web/guest/mission.

Information regarding immigration processes is available here. All delegates are advised to obtain and bring an official Letter of Invitation from the conference organizers and bring it with them to help facilitate the immigration process in Kuala Lumpur.

Israeli and Afghan delegates should request specific information regarding the process applicable to them by sending an email to .

Customs Requirements For Media Equipment

The conference organizers strongly recommend that media representatives bringing professional video equipment into Malaysia obtain an ATA carnet (a Merchandise Passport) to ease customs processes at the border. Information regarding the carnet is available at: www.iccwbo.org/chamber-services/trade-facilitation/ata-carnets/about-ata-carnets/. Failure to follow Malaysia customs procedures may result in equipment being delayed at the border.

Yellow Fever Vaccination

A Yellow fever vaccination certificate is required from all delegates coming from or going through yellow fever endemic countries: Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central Africa Republic, Chad, Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Togo, Uganda, Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Paraguay, Panama, Peru, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela.

For more information on yellow fever vaccination requirements for Malaysia, please click here.